Request: Information regarding best preparatory method for CFA Level 1 June 2016 Exam - Help Needed Please

Good Day,

First off, this is my first post, so I apologize if this is the wrong place to post this.

My name is Matt and I am a level 1 candidate! I have registered for the June 2016 exam. I am 30, have been in the workforce for a while, but have decided to upgrade my education and switch careers. Currently I am in my second year of Economics with a minor in Finance.

I have started studying for the level one since the beginning of January using the Shweser Notes exclusively. With that said I thought having Jan, Feb, Mar and April for studying and May for mock exams would be enough…but I am finding out now, that it is definitely not!

Here was my plan:

January - April: Read Schweser Notes 1-5 & do end of CFAI EOC questions.

May: 7 Mock Exams

June: Breathe, Pass Exam, go have a beer…

Here is reality:

January: Quant…High scores on Schweser EOC questions. *I haven’t done any CFAI EOC questions.

February: FRA…3 more readings left…it’s literally killing me…skipped all EOC questions, did very little schweser blue box questions. *I haven’t done any CFAI EOC questions.

March-April: I have the rest left…3 more schweser books.

May: Mocks…!!!

***I believe my expectations have diluted themselves because although I knew it would be demanding, I didn’t know it would be so consuming. On top of that I have midterms at the moment (remember I am in school)…also I have regular class work, assignments, essays, modules, readings, etc.

I am asking for some sort of idea and or plan that will help me get through this because I am honestly thinking of dropping it until December (I know I won’t get the money back…). I don’t know if it’s do-able at all.

What are your thoughts? I appreciate any feedback and/or suggestions.

Thank you,

Matt

So you’re in undergrad right now? Are you working currently?