Resume boost from WSP modeling boot camp?

Hey guys, first a bit of background. I’m a charterholder with 4 years fund of funds and 1 year of credit research. I have zero experience with financial modeling. Been out of work for quite awhile and have had no luck getting an interview. Because there are no FoF jobs near me, and I want to transition out of it, I’m always applying for other areas of asset management, although I try to find openings that aren’t too demanding with specific skills or exp I don’t have.

Anyway, one required skill I see a lot of, even outside of equity research, is financial modeling. The local CFA society is sponsoring a Wall Street Prep boot camp, but the discounted cost is 1k for the shortened 2 day course. I already have their self study basic financial modeling package, although I only paid $10 for it thru Udemy. Normally there’s no way I’d shell out a grand to take some course, but desperation makes people do stupid things. So, I guess the crux of the matter, is if taking this course would give me enough of a boost to get me a job. Being unemployed, I really don’t want to spend so much money if it would only make a small difference in my job chances. Any thoughts?

Unless its your last $1000 I would do it. Consider going back to school.

Tbh if you could track down some models you could teach yourself and save 1k…

Bromion, I have the 250 dollar WSP modeling course already, so I’m sure with that and other resources I could teach myself, but I’m not sure it would credible in helping me get a job like the actual boot camp.

I’m not sure the boot camp is going to move your resume to the short list. A two day course doesn’t teach you to model anymore than the WSP self study does. You haven’t demonstrated that you can model, someone else probably has.

I was on my phone earlier and I hate texting but my comment implied that it would be faster and less painful to simply light the money on fire if your goal was a resume boost.