Resume Question

I have 2 years experience working in investment management and am now looking for a new job. I went to a top 30 univesrity but graduated with a very pedestrian GPA. Should I include 1) my SAT scores (2100 total)

1. my high school (it’s one of the very top prep schools in the world… could come off as elitist if the interviewer knows what it is, but didn’t go to a private high school… but if the interviewer is familiar with the school he will also know that it was a more challenging academic program than most universities)

THANKS!

1.) No, not strong enough (no offense)

2.) Yes, feel free to mention in the “other” / “additional info” section

No, and no.

Presumably, you graduated from high school, then spent two years in college. And you say you have two years experience, which leads me to believe that you graduated from college two years ago.

If I’m right, you graduated high school six years ago, and took your SAT’s seven years ago.

That’s ancient history. Nobody cares. And it was high school. It’s not what you’ve done–it’s what you’ve done lately.

Pumping up your high school record probably doesn’t make sense. All it seems to do is point out that you looked promising in high school, but disappointed in college, and the extrapolation of that trend into the future doesn’t help your case.

The best way to counteract a poor college performance is to have stories (or better, achievements) that demonstrate that you’re much more disciplined and capable now than you were while you were in college. It’s not a perfect counter to a mediocre GPA, but it’s your best option.