Risk Management

I am an L2 candidate and currently evaluating my options/job prospects and would like to know that if CFA is highly relevant to the Risk Management profiles in Banks? Will it make little sense to pursue the Charter if I wish to stay in Risk? It would also help if some of you could tell me whether it is *absolutely a must* to do a PHD/MFE to grow in the Risk Management department or if FRM/PRMIA does the trick as long as you get the entry in the department and work hard. Few more clarifications: How is the work like, in terms of maybe work-hours per week? Are there any possibilities of travel whatsoever? And what would be the typical entry-level profiles that I may contemplate? How does the pay/growth opportunities compare with a typical ER analyst role? My background is fresher, non-finance UG, MBA(Finance) from a reputed institute and CFA L2 candidate. Many thanks to all those who managed to read till here.

I kind of think it is necessary because: a) People come check out the risk management and a quick check says that degrees matter. Having a Ph.D. is best for due diligence. b) How much are you really going to learn from FRM, etc.? Lots of risk literature is pretty tough stuff.

The Society of Actuaries has a new credential called CERA - Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst. However getting that would be harder than getting CFA charter. They also have a specialty track in ERM. In my personal and probably biased opinion, there is no one better at managing risk than actuaries.

Poof. Actuaries are second tier wannabes. Ph.D. Statisticians eat them for breakfast.