Schweser - Are They Too Concise To Pass L II

I’ve searched on this Q in the forums, and get too many diverse hits, so I’m just going to ask again: I am studying for L II using Schweser, and am VERY concerned that Schweser is now too concise and condensed. To those of you who have already passed L II and are familiar with the Schweser study guides, do you think Schweser is sufficient to pass the L II exam, or have they become too concise and consequently either omit important material or just inadequately explain certain topics? No point in using them if they are just going to prepare me to fail.

I read the CFAI material and used the Q bank. I only used the notes as a backup if I didn’t understand something thoroughly. I suggest doing the CFAI end of reading questions as well. Just my opinion.

I passed Levels I & II on the first attempt using only Schweser for everything but ethics and using only CFAI for ethics. I am using the same formula for Level III, we’ll see if it works. With that said, the PM section last year was not well covered by Schweser. Search the Level II forums (June 08 dates) for details.

Passed w/ highest score in all categories, except PM (50-70), using only Schweser. Found the PM coverage thin in Schweser, which I think hurt a little on the exam, as some of the more obscure topics were tested. And you can guarantee CFAI will test obscure topics every year. Important note - I (and many others) who used Schweser readings did in fact do the questions from the CFAI texts, especially in the month of May. They are simply more representative of what you will see on the real exam. So I guess if you factor those in, I kind of used both…just didn’t read from the CFAI texts. With that said, everyone learns differently. Some people require more voluminous reading to feel that they understand the material fully. CFAI certainly provide that!