Schweser Econ

The econ book seems very light as to what we need to understand. I do have a finance degree with 4 econ classes under my belt. Anyone else feel the same way?

That’s what I thought too. I was surprised at the light amount of Economics material on the exam. I majored in Math but I’ve taken around 5 Econ electives throughout my career. I was surprised to see that I won’t have to analyze anything like isoquants, isocost, or any other micro- or macro-economic factors to the depth which I had anticipated. edit: OOPS, I am talking about the CFAI Econ material in general, and not the Schweser notes.

Couple of things about Econ on L1. 1. From reading thro the posts in the L1 Forum, you would have seen repeatedly people saying the following things a. Econ is a large amount of material. It is a BEAR, at best. b. Even people with a Econ Major have not been able to max out on the Econ score. c. The folks who learnt the text (which does not obviously include me) and answered the question the way CFAI expected got above the 70% scoreline. (I got 51-70 both times, 1 a fail in June and a Pass in Dec 2007). 2. Lots of folks did agree at the end of the exams in both June and in December that the Econ did throw a lot of people off, especially with the way the questions were worded. 3. I am stating this from a 2007 standpoint, though. I am aware of the fact that quite a lot of the material esp. the Global econ part has moved over to L2 this year. You need to understand the relationships, and correlate among them clearly enough to answer the questions. However, Econ by itself is only 10% on the exam and there in lies the tradeoff that helps you decide how much is enough. CP