seeking career advices

I am a level III candidate so I am posting my questions here. I am a software engineer working for a semiconductor company. I started CFA study in 2008 when the market went sour. CFA curriculum does help me improve my personal investment performance. I beat S&P 500 by a wide margin in the last two years. I am thinking about what should I do after finishing Level III. Because of my age, I do not think working for a bank as an analyst is practical for me. I want to find out how I can become an independent financial advisor, managing family and friends’ funds at first. Has anyone taken this route? What license(s) do I need to operate this business? What brokerage will you recommend for trading and bookkeeping? Thank you!

I hear crickets chirping

You wont get many detailed replies because clearly you havnt done your hw. And its a very involved answer with many routes. Research CFP, series 7 and 63, becoming a financial advisor Axa has a program that trains new advisors look at that

How old are you?

wrong forum try this http://forums.registeredrep.com/

I think one’s true guage will be known once the prior year’s essay questions and answers are released (in March I believe).

> CFA curriculum does > help me improve my personal investment > performance. I beat S&P 500 by a wide margin in > the last two years. Overconfidence Bias :slight_smile:

if you did the CFA, the last thing you want to do is be a RR, FA, FC, retail broker, independent, . . . etc. literally the butthole of finance. no different than selling vacums.

Well said “rolo550,” well said! glacier88, a software engineer with a CFA charter is not even close to being qualified to manage other people’s money. By studying and knowing the content in the CFA curriculum you are headed in the right direction, but you need to get some on-the-job experience. At this point (as rolo550 so effectively implies) you are actually quite dangerous to other people’s money.