Self taught skills on resume

Hi, I am in process of updating my resume…do u guys think it would be good idea to mention self taught skills in the resume even though I have no project experience on that skill or mentioning it would appear like cheating and fake.

You can Add them at hobbies section in general sense

By self taught skills …I meant something like a language VBA/macros…or some other database tool or some other skill which I have learnt on my own. I don’t think it would be a good idea to add them in hobbies…or even add a hobbies section. Some of the finance resume templates I came across on Google were straight to the point…name, experience , knowledge and skills and education.

Yes add them to your skills. Have you used VBA in your job at all to improve a process or do anything? Add that to your CV.

Depends on how profound your knowledgs in said skills is. If you claim to be proficient in say VBA or SAP you better live up to that. Nothing worse than some noob who claimed to be good to land the job only to run around annoying colleagues with stupid questions later on. The same is true for languages, although you usually get documentation about your skills from course providers. In Europe we have CERS for that, I guess theres something similar globally. In general I would refrain from listing skills for which you have no documentation (except MS office maybe). A CV without hobbies is just what you found on google - a template. Nobody hires templates or socially reclusive people.

Why would you not put them on your resume? There’s certainly no shame in self instruction