Sending Potential Employers an Investment Idea

I’m currently employed as an analyst on the buy-side (covering a particular industry) and evaluating career alternatives. The type of funds I’m targeting is deep value-oriented. Since a good amount of value funds seek analysts who served as generalists in prior roles, there is an added element of difficulty to the terrible job market. The fact that a lot of value funds have gotten hit hard over the past two months doesn’t help, either. Because my background is devoid of any value-related experience, I’m making it clear in my cover letter that I’m a big advocate of the strategy and have utilized many of its analyses. One piece of advice I recently received was to send in an analysis of a company that I find attractive. While I agree that this makes sense for those without prior experience (i.e., undergrads or those switching from non-finance field), I’m not sure if it does for someone with hedge fund experience (it may be important to mention that the fund I work will likely not be recognized by other funds - aka we’re small). Another problem is that since I cover a specific industry, I’m most comfortable analyzing a company in that industry. However, sending a report on a company in this industry (even though I haven’t analyzed it for my fund) may put a bad taste in the prospective employer’s mouth – in my experience, most hedge funds are quite secretive and the thought of someone sending out information would ruin any chances. While it’s not impossible to analyze a company in another industry, my lack of experience would make it an arduous process; given the fact that CFA + job + sending out resumes takes up 100+ hours of work per week, this isn’t too feasible. Thoughts? Thanks in advance.