Should I go for a Phd in Finance?

I am finishing up my degree in MFE and got a job at a top I-Bank. But I am not totally happy with my career as I like the life style of a finance professor. They got paid very well and has a lot of autonomy over what they are doing. I am in my 30s. The opportunity cost is high. I am at a cross road to make a decision as to what to do next. I would appreciate any advice. Following is my pros and cons of get a phd: Pros 1. Highly compensated (150+), nice life style 2. doing prestigious work, self complishment 3. job security Cons 1. I am old, opportunity cost is high 2. My starting salary including bonus is also 150+. Guys, any suggestion what should I do?

I am doing my PhD after I completed MBA. I am more or less of the same age with u. PhD will take all your energy. I saw many MBAs going further toward PhD but quit after 2 year coursework as they feel bored with research life. If u leave after 2 years, Uni will give u a master degree. After u graduate from PhD u have 6 years working as assistant prof. if u have publications in top journals during this 6 years,u will get tenue and become associate prof. then life become nicer. On the other hand, I know quite a lot who did not get tenue after 6 years and end up moving to another Uni as Lecturers (not tenue track ) or have to find job in industry. My advice is u shd go for PhD if u really enjoy doing research, do not go for PhD because of high compesation thoughts. It is easier with PhD life if u r very good at mathematic, quantitative skill, and programming skill as well.

cud i pursue my Phd while i work…i dont care if it takes time…but is it possible…

Hey MBA Finance, I am looking into MFE programs. Where did you go for the program and what do you think of it? Isn’t an MFE sort of a divergence from the CFA path in that MFE is much more for a quant rather than a generalist in financial analysis? What sorts of benefits are there for an MFE graduate who is also a CFA charterholder?