Should I register for CFA L3?

I just passed L2 but I am undecided whether I should go for L3. I work as an analyst for a quasi government organisation. I don’t think I have the interest to go into portfolio management or investment banking. Has anyone felt the same way as I do as you go through the cirruculum? At the same time, I feel that I have already completed L1 and 2, I should finish the Program. Otherwise, I may regret that I left something unfinished. Should I do L3 for the sake of finishing it? Any advice?

If there’s a small chance you’ll switch to a relevant industry that might benefit from the designation, then go for it now. Not because of sunk cost but because:

• it’ll be harder to start studying again down the track… it’s a horror for those who haven’t studied for years and then go back to studying.
  • you’ll forget relevant stuff that you can carry over from L2 to L3 (or concepts like swaps that took you/me ages to learn).

However, if you don’t really like the stuff you’ve been learning then just move on and save your 300 hours.

I feel the same but i think there’s other areas where you can go into besides investment banking and asset management. I’m not sure what I want to do yet and personally am not so keen on the hours so I don’t think I will ever pursue these two roles. If I was you, I’d just finish it man, what have you got to lose? And if you stop now and you want to finish it later then you’ll lose the continuity in the material which you’ll regret later. I reckon you’ll be glad once it’s all done.

Definitely go for Level 3, since you already passed 1 and 2. The designation might come handy one day, who knows. In that regard, I definitely agree with “spaizdz”. No point of stopping right now, it is too late for that :slight_smile: