Should I sit the CFA level I to start my new career in Melbourne ?

Hi everyone,

I hold a masters in actuarial and financial science and I recently successfuly completed my thesis defense, which gave me the official “French actuary” title. I have 2 years of experience (1 year of intership included) at BNP Paribas in Paris inside the ALM team (Assets and Liabilities Management). I was in charge of buidling financial models and running ALM studies for several subsidiaries in Europe.

So, here is my point… I will leave France in few months to get together with my partner in Melbourne. And I would to take this opportunity to move away from the insurance industry and try to get experience in Asset Management. My masters is not recognized in Australia so I am wondering if it would be possible to get in the Australian market.

My first thought was to sit the CFA Level I, I believe it could really help me to get in. I also read on that forum that CFA Level I “means nothing” and is not considered by companies.

What do you think about my case? How can I increase my chance to get a job in Asset Management in Melbourne ?

Your question is will it increase your chances, and that answer is yes. Just like how Buying a second lottery ticket will increase your chances as well But if you get anything it’ll be because of your prior experience, passing L1 won’t be the reason you make it.

Australians are generally pretty poor at recognising international experience or qualifications - even Australians returning home from stints in London can find it difficult to get decent jobs.

By all means do Level 1, it can only help, but don’t be surprised if you find it very hard to switch countries and careers in the same move.

lol in short, CFA is worthless… Like buying another lottery ticket which is almost 0% improvement on your chances of winning the lottery.

Hey Deeprod,