Should I take Level II and III?

I passed the CFA Level I exam in december 2011. I am debating whether I want to go through with the next 2 exams. At the moment, I am not sure whether I will be working professionally in an investment-related role ever so I will not be getting a charter anytime soon.

Reason for taking the exams: I want to become a recreational stock analyst of professonial caliber. I have a limited background in stock valuation. Is it worth studying for these next two exams?

yes

Since your goal is to learn something, then yes.

I am a professional stock analyst and would say no. There is an unlimited amount of stuff in the world to learn (or specifically in the world of finance), but there’s a limited number of hours to learn it. Focus on the stuff that matters. 95% of the material in the CFA program is not relevant to what you want to do. Level 1 helps, but 2 and 3 are way overkill and are unhelpful. If you want to learn to invest, read Michael Porter, study accounting, and read all of the value investing books (Graham, Greenblatt, etc.). When I first got into the industry six years ago I set out to do what you did and after I finished I was like, “WTF, why did I even study the CFA if all of that stuff is unrelated to being an investor?” It helps to have the credential in the industry (because we live in a credentialist world) but you don’t need that if you’re playing from home.

Agree with Bromion. Ethics section for instance.

I don’t think you should do it. I’m a level 3 candidate, and I think CFA is making me worse. All this time I should be spending getting better at investing I’m learning random stuff I don’t want to.

Although I would say do Level 2. There is some FSA stuff that would be valuable.