So I failed band 5...

Somewhere around March I knew I was not going to pass and although I really did spend a lot of time (in hours) studying, I knew that the quality of my studying was not the best. I am a CPA by trade (for a venture capital firm) and was a bit overwhelmed with some of the finance/investment topics. I only used Schweser to study and a bigger mistake on my part was not taking one day a week as a “review” day to go back and actually study previous topics. My goal when I was studying was to get through the material as fast as I could, completely wrong approach. My new approach is to start early, probably first week in November, go slower and use the CFA text. As I talked to some CFAs that I work with, I realized that I should really try and study more actively, making my own notes from the CFA texts and working through the CFA questions and EOCs carefully. I probably should still buy a question bank, is this ELAN website really that good?? Any thoughts on the new approach as a re-taker? I am dissappointed, but not discouraged.

DO NOT BUY A QUESTION BANK L2 is all vignettes and so no point doing one question at a time. I tried the Schweser one and a couple of topic exams through I realized how useless it really was. BEST ROUTE (if you have ample time) - CFAI books + EOC GOOD ENOUGH ROUTE (if you have a finance background and are fresh out of college) - Schweser

I received a band 5 last year, and then passed this year. The difference for me was more EOC questions and (as suggested by OP) making my own notes. I created by own question bank - a Word doc with a two-column table. Questions in the first column and answers in the second column. I found that this worked well as asking yourself questions reenforces the material better than just reading pages of paragraph-style notes. Just don’t give up!! Best of luck for next year.