Some general questions about CFA L1...

Hi there, I’m thinking of getting started with the CFA program, but I wanted to get some idea of the sort of math involved in it, as I imagine that math will be the part of L1 I have the most difficulty with. So, with respect to CFA L1: 1. What exactly is the math level required? What kind of math do you need to know (algebra, trig, calc, etc), and is it very high-level math? I have done the CSC (Canadian equivalent of Series 7) and am comfortable with algebra and fractional/percentage math, but not much more then that. 2. I know there’s a lot of statistics on L1. I have no experience with stats - is the level of stats on L1 something I can pick up with a high school level stats textbook? Or is it more advanced then that? As I was saying, I’ve completed the CSC with Honours and minored in Economics at University, and as such am already aware of about 40-50% of the material on CFA L1. I’m just unsure of whether I can overcome the math portions or not. Thanks!

np heavy math and stats you can learn from the books. if you really want to prepare, I would suggest an entry level stats book from any good undergrad or MBA program and then move into the cirriculum. people pass this exam all the time with limited finance background, but that is not to say it is not hard. you get out what you put in. good luck