Something for candidates to think about...

Simple proof:

No Study = Fail

• Study = No Fail

No Study + Study = No Fail + Fail

(No + 1) Study = (No + 1) Fail

(No + 1) Study = (No + 1) Fail

Study = Fail

(No + 1) = 0

you divided both sides by zero !

why does No +1 = 0?

You can’t assume it’s not, therefore you can’t cancel the terms. Study = Fail only when (No + 1) does not equal 0, but there is no evidence that it doesn’t. The logician in me weeps.

Problem lies in the fact that

Study = No Fail

is not always infallibly true!

Are you sure? I mean, I’m not a math expert, but I feel like I’ve canceled (X+1)*X = (X+1) for a result of X=1 or similar equations many a time.

“No” means “negative” or “minus”.

No Study = - Study = (-1) x Study

No + 1 = -1+1 = 0

you can not divide by zero

You can’t arbitrarily assign a value of -1 to No.

No if anything would best suited by 0, but isn’t meant to be a strictly numerical value. Arbitrarily saying it’s negative 1 would be like saying it’s 14*15 because N&O are the 14th and 15th letters of the alphabet.

I’m positive. (X + 1) * X = (X + 1) implies X^2 + X = X + 1 which implies X^2 = 1. There are actually two solutions: X = -1 or X = 1, and by cancelling you completely ignored one of them. The same applies to your proof: it just assumes away possibilities that you aren’t allowed to do with deductive reasoning.

Well, the result is mathematically correct for any value of “No”…

(No)*Study = Fail

Study = (No)*Fail

is true for any value of “No”, so obviously, Study = Fail.

Though, I’m not sure if a term like (No)*Study has any meaning if “No” is an arbitrary variable. We could easily change “No” to “Yes” or “Maybe”, and the result would be the same.

Actually, I solved the simplification incorrectly in that example (it is ±1, but I’m sure that arithmetically it’s correct now that you’ve said that. And that proves that you can in fact cancel that term when the outside term is a constant.