Soon to be new grad seeking fellow AFer advice

hi there, i’m a soon to be new grad in june and i’ve just passed L1 this december. I’m very passionate about working in the finance/investment industry and eventually obtaining the CFA charter. however, let me quickly admit that I have no ‘working-life’ experience. having read this forum alot, seems like the majority here have already started their careers. Therefore, I’d really like to know if you have any tips generally speaking. such as specific areas in the industry to start out in, what positions typically has the best learning experience, etc. hopefully this will help not just me but others in my shoes too. -thanks :slight_smile:

my recommendation would be to go to as many campus recruitments as possible. start NOW. campus recruitment is key as a lot of the jobs that you can have access to is simply not available once you’re out.

With no work experience most people usually have a hard time but you’ve passed Level 1 which is a hell of a step. I have no common advice to offer except your search will be hard due to current state of the finance industry (it’s hard for everyone right now) but you’ll have an edge as a recent grad that has passed Level 1. I graduated in June with work experience and only the intention to take CFA level 1 (I’m registered for June '08) and I had a hard time…actually I still am. The only thing I can say is start early and APPLY, APPLY, APPLY… If you can, try to get into some of the CFA institute events at your local society. Also when applying your key selling point is being a finance grad who is already a level 2 candidate (it sounds much better than “I passed level 1”) and is committed to a career as a CFA.