starting too early?

It seems that a lot of people here have already begun studying. I plan on starting early December but am considering starting sooner. I have heard of people experiencing “burn out” that start too early. I realize that this is a marathon and not a sprint, but isn’t starting now a little extreme and going to wear down your long-term stamina? Thoughts?

Nope. Not if you do it right. I’m studying an hour per night Monday through Thursday and 5 hours on the weekend. 9 hours times ~32 weeks is almost 290 hours of studying with no burn out and no craming–just a methodical, measured approach.

zombie, just choose the strategy that fits your own personality and circomstances. some ppl like to take it easy and study consistently, some excel at cramming in a short period of time. for what it is worth, most of my friends who have families and hectic work commitments still managed to pass with about 4 months of concentrated revision (that means 3 hours per weeknight and more on the weekends). it also depends on whether you solely use Schweser/Stalla notes or CFAI candidate readins too… for purely Schweser notes, i feel that 4 months is adequate without burnout, but you better know those details inside out. The notes are already a condensed version of the Body of Knowledge so if you don’t understand that in detail, you will be in trouble. There is also an emphasis on candidate readings this year, what with CFAI producing their own notes, so take more time to read those. Also, do as many actual questions as you can…

Hey Zombie, Started reading yesterday, my intent was to start in Dec but AF somehow pressurize me to start earlier. Think of it this way, you are sitting for the same exam with these other guys who are busy reading and raising the passmark. My approach is more like kkent’s, I am taking it easy to avoid burnout. Furthermore I intend to take a two week break in February as in no books, no AF, in short CFA will go into a comma for two weeks.