Stay as analyst at a RIA or join Wirehouse team

Guys,

Currently I am an analyst at an independent RIA shop (~13 billion AUM total) that does both institutional investment consulting (advising on 401k, 403b, and DB plans) and traditional wealth management. I’ve been with the firm for 5 years, since I was out of college and feel like I’m starting to plateau at the firm.

I’ve recently interviewed for an analyst position on big AUM wirehouse advisor team. Culture is obviously much different from an independent RIA, but I would be getting exposure to some UHNW clients and some different work. Hours would be much longer at the wirehouse as well.

One reason I am attracted to the wirehouse analyst position is that I think there may be much better exit opportunities. Several of the other analysts who were on the team in the past have gone on to IB and other good roles, and I think it would be a better name on my resume than an RIA that not many people have heard of.

I don’t know yet what the compensation differences would be, but can guys give shed any light into potential exit opportunities? Do you think my thinking is accurate here? Some background, I went to a non-target undergrad with a very average GPA.

Morgan Stanley FA to IB? Uh, not likely. I mean, it’s certainly happened but the FA gig didn’t help at all.

Why do you feel you’ve plateaued at the RIA? Honestly, nothing could pry me away from a $13B RIA unless it was absolutely horrid working conditions.

Pretty much everyone goes the other way - Wires -> RIAs. Not the other way around.

Take some time off and get reenergized. Move up the ladder at the RIA and demand equity. There’s a 95% chance the grass is not greener at UBS.

I’m guessing the RIA situation is case-by-case, and you should see how other people there have done in their careers, as well as if those opportunities are still the same now.