Stochastic Calculus

Anyone here use stochastic calculus in their job? Would it be useful to charterholders?

For those of you who use it, how difficult is it? Can it be self-taught? What are some good books?

“Useful to charterholders” is very generic, if you’re running an options structuring desk, probably useful, if you’re running a bar on Koh Samui, probably not so much.

Sure it can be self taught, but it will help if you have a strong background in probability and measure theory. I assume you’re looking to learn it in the context of options pricing? I used the book by Alison Etheridge, which gave a nice introduction to the material and built Black-Scholes from the ground up.

Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance is a good book for some of this stuff. It is not a book specifically about stochastic calculus, but it goes through a lot of the applications of it and might be a more applicable start than just diving into the definition/theorem/proof/theorem/proof/correlary approach that most mathematicians use.

If it’s useful, it would be in the curriculum. Apparently it isn’t.

Neither is knowing the difference between a red light and a green light, but it would still be useful for most charterholders to know.

To state (not being in the curriculum --> not useful for a charterholder to know) is ridiculous.

1 Like

Whether it’s useful depends on what your job is. My bet is that about 80% of chartholders / portfolio managers don’t use it. It’s not necessary in day-to-day operations of telling you to do x or not do y.

It’s immensly useful if you’re the kind of person who actually wants to understand financial models, how the models work and under what circumstances they will fail. As we saw with every financial crisis, the vast majority of players don’t really give a shit about any of how and why.