"Strong financial modelling skills"

I see this line in most PE job ads. What exactly does this entail? Simple inputting formulae into an excel sheet? Sorry if this is a noob question, my background is in com sci / EE, and I’m really curious. Any idea if there are any online examples?

I feel like this is code for “Those without IB or research experience need not apply.”

http://letmegooglethatforyou.com/?q=What+is+financial+modelling

if you dont know, you dont have it

daj224 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > if you dont know, you dont have it That’s not true. I’ve worked in finance and real estate for 17 months and I use Excel–often fairly high level modeling–quite often and I’m not even sure what an ad like that would mean. Does that mean building absurd spreadsheets with 20 or 30 macros–which my company delegates to on-site consultants–or does that simply mean you need to be able to navigate complicated templates with strong understanding of the formulas and how they are all connected? There’s a huge difference. I’ll second the original poster–any insight into what “strong financial modeling skills” typically means?

Ok, let’s suppose that someone has financial modeling skills. What do you think someone with “STRONG” skills should be able to do, vs someone with just “AVERAGE” skills?

I would imagine that it simply means they want you be capable of building pro-formas and using various valuation techniques on projects and/or privately held companies. I sincerely hope this helps.