Study Plan HELP!! Failed June, Retake December

Hey guys, I failed Band 7 in June and I am registered to take it again in December. I am having a bit of an issue getting back into the study process and I am seeking a bit of help here. I am going to give you all a bit of background of myself, my experience with CFA, and my plan moving forward… please give me some advice!

First of all, here are my results from June:

Alt Inv: <50%

Corp Fin: 51-70%

Deriv: 51-70%

Econ: 51-70%

Equity: 51-70%

Ethics: 51-70%

FRA: 51-70%

Fixed Inc: 51-70%

Portfolio Man: < 50%

Quant: 51-70%

My background:

I am a political science major who is not necessarily looking to get into Finance. I have zero experience in the field and when I started studying for level one I was literally starting form zero knowledge. Using only Schweser, I put in about 300-400 hours of study from December - June in order to hit band 7. My tests started in the 30% range and I raised myself to a 70% right before the test. I am confident that with the right studying schedule starting in September, and with 1 week off work right before the test, that I have a really good chance of doing it this time.

I am interested in CFA for a couple of reasons. One reason is that I find it genuinly interesting. Another is that I see it as just another short term goal to work on and improve myself. And, finally, I would really like to get an MBA from a good university one day but my GPA was quite low so I am hoping a CFA level one will improve my chances of getting into a good school by a lot when I decide to apply in a year or two.

Actually, I have a good job right now as the marketing director for a small company in Shenzhen, China and I see marketing as my probable career path in the future. Even if you guys think this is a waste of time now, I am so happy to try and do it because I love the challenege and the opportunity to improve myself, even if it is for no direct benefits.

Down to business…