study session order for MAXIMUM effectiveness for lv.1

I have completed Ethics and FRA. Initially was thinking of completing the first 2 readings of quant (readings 5 and 6) and then moving on to Corporate Finance and onwards and then finishing up with the remainder of quant and econ.

However, I figured to ask AF community as what would be a ‘better’ order for better effectiveness of studying.

Given that I have completed Ethics and FRA to date, what do you think of the following order:

Equity --> Derivatives --> Alternative Investments

Quant readings 5-6 (TVM, DCF)

Corporate Finance --> Portfolio Management --> Fixed Income

Remainder of Quant

Economics

Am using Elan/Wiley videos to go through the study guides. Find their videos very useful to date (Olinto & Bassit are awesome) and keeps the studying active.

Feedback much appreciated!

Unless you already have the quant stuff down, I suggest tackling that earlier as it carries over into other topics.

When I studied for Level I I read the topics I knew the best first as a refresher and then kept going and saved the most unfamiliar material for last.

When I studied for Level II I read them in order and it helped a lot because later sections built on things I had already read.

For both tests I reread ethics before the test to make sure all the examples were fresh in my mind.

It worked for me so far. I think for Level III I’ll read in order again.

I dread Quant. It’s definitely not my strong point, but it’s a good place to start, as suggested above.

IMHO, it does help to cover topics that overlap.

I’d suggest:

Quant

Economics (just the reading that covers currency tradings, if it’s still in the curriculum) + fixed income + derivatives + alternative investments

FRA

Equity + corporate finance

The remainder of econ

Portfolio management

Ethics. Ethics is a snooze. I suggest reading 1/2 hour here or there over the next several months w/ a final review just before the exam.

Good luck