Studying Graduate Level Economics on your own..

This is question for those with a graduate degree in Econ. How useful have you found your education for your work? I’m considering buying all the textbooks from NYU’s graduate econ track for self-study and future reading (way in the future, that is…) My economics knowledge and education is quite poor. CFA level 1 econ and 3 courses…only basic business school econ foundation (basic macro/micro/international). My other educational insecurity is insufficient understanding of politics and political science…

how do you get the list of books for nyu econ program?

I don’t recommend it. I have a bachelors and masters in the field. I think you should just read a basic macroecon book (Sloman) and a basic microecon book (Varian). I have worked in IB and buyside ER and a good mastery of the fundamentals is useful, but diminishing marginal returns quickly set in.

I agree with Etienne. If the purpose is to learn something practical, only a few books studied rigorously will suffice to provide the information you probably require for the investment fields. At first I recoiled but I later grew to appreciate the quote: “A PhD in economics just proves that what you learned in your first course as an undergraduate was mostly correct.”

Lol. Yep.

For those with econ degrees, what about an “applied” program that takes the concepts then applies statistical analsysis to them? One program I had been looking at is really a blend between econ and stats.

sternwolf and #1 gunner, there was a good thread we had last week which may provide some additional info. not sure if you saw it already… http://www.analystforum.com/phorums/read.php?1,795368 hope this helps. i’m kind of in the same position as you - unsure of whether a masters or self study is the way to go. i’m waffling back and forth…kind of depends on whether or not my employer would pay for a part time masters.