Suggestion Needed

I am a CPA and MBA with overall eighteen years of experience; eight years as a controller in manufacturing companies and making $150K plus 25% bonus. I am 43 and feeling bored with my role. I am almost up to my ceiling as far as my income. I am thinking of taking CFA exam. My question is, once I pass all three levels what kind of job and salary I should expect. Can I reach $300K after five years? Can CFA will lead me to a CFO position? Only some serious suggestions please. Thanks

There are WAY more qualified people on this board to address this than me, but I’ll get the ball rolling. If you are looking to double your base salary from an already healthy base by getting into a CFO role at a non-financial firm, I’m honestly not sure the CFA is the best fit for you. It would seem you would want to enhance your credentials with a certification program more focused on corporate finance. The CFA program does cover that a little, but at a basic level and probably with nothing you don’t already have a grasp on. Now, if you’re thinking about getting into a role managing a corp pension fund or dealing more intimately with investment management, maybe the CFA is something to consider. Another idea is to move from your controller role into financial risk management. Check out the GARP website about the FRM designation. But for a CFO track, based solely on your current credentials, I would think you just need to start creating opportunities by networking and sniffing around. Just my .02 in a depreciating currency.