swap spreads

Im no expert in these, and have never traded them. But I notice today that 30yr swap spreads are trading at -35. How does that make any sense? Why does a government bond yield more than a swap at a bank during a banking crisis?

I second this question. Sorry I can’t assist chicagofx but I was confused by Rick Santelli’s comments this morning on CNBC…where did you see this swap spread at? I only heard it this morning from CNBC

It doesn’t make sense and I don’t have a complete explanation. Apparently, it’s about hedging derivatives contracts. I think this has to do with the demand for dollar-based funding so there are lots of currency swaps out there with interest risk being hedged in interest rate swaps. It’s a weird side effect of the credit debacle.

its bc of exotic desks out there hedging due to the flattening of the 10 x 30 swap curve. as the curve flattened they needed duration and began to receive in 30-year swap spreads. as they did this it put downward pressure on the 30yr point of the spread curve, flattening 10’s 30’s even more. which forces them to continue to receive(thus pushing spreads down even further). the 10’s 30’s swaps curve actually inverted today. there are also lots of natural receivers out there in 30’s as weak balance sheets are preventing the purchase of treasuries for asset liability matching so people receive on 30-yr swaps.

is this what is driving down 10s 30s treasury yields? (arb guys)