SWAPS traders

Anybody on the board know anyone in this business? I’m a prop trader now and looking for some insight on getting into that trade. Order execution/ market making is on its way out and I need to start thinking about what’s next. Any info would help. Thanks

On to the headhunters it is!!!

what info are you looking for? its a great product to be involved in but will be tough to break into if you are currently working on a product that is moving toward automation (assuming you trade equites). also depending on what type of prop trading you are talking about, getting onto a big banks swap desk is going to be tough.

I figured that would be the response I’d get. I think it will be tough to break into no matter what product I’m working on currently. I don’t think that trading equities makes it any harder. I thought maybe it would be an advantage in a way. Any gig making big money is going to be a good ol’boys club. I’m just looking for an invitation to the party really.

jax26, are you in jacksonville?

no nyc. rob dont let my comments discourage you, the move is definitely possible but it is difficult.

Played golf with a guy who said his girlfriend’s kid went to a great east coast private college, got straight A’s, and landed a job after graduating trading swaps for a large bank in San Fran. This guy told me they started him at 50, 3 months later gave him a 30 g bonus, upped his salery to 80. Next bonus season they gave him 103 g’s. The guy also told me this kid only works 9-10 hours a day.

That’s another thing I’m afraid of. Trading equities is the easiest way to make six figs, and whatever I move on to will require more hours, probably for less $$$ at first.

does trading equities sound a lot like being a professional gambler?

Hey Frank, I talked to WaterHouse last night to open an account. Getting rid of Etrade. Any stock tips?