Target Date Funds - Am i lazy?

Wondering if anyone else is like me. I don’t have a lot of money to invest into my Roth so diversification is tough… My workaround is investing in a target date fund (small amt initially and small amt each month) and then adding asset classes I believe will do well, or better diversifies my portfolio. I can’t help feel lazy doing this since I work in investments. Does anyone else do something similar?

I used to work as an analyst for a small/micro cap long/short HF. So I’m like a financial genius, right? Hardly. The type of analysis I did and investment ideas I generated are wildly inappropriate for most individuals. Furthermore, I realized that people a lot smarter than me were spending all their time looking at the entire market. So even as a guy following the market all the time, I have no problem using index funds for my personal investment. I think you could do a bit better than target date funds by using individual ETFs, but you could certainly do a lot worse.

If you don’t have a specific view to act on, why not just allocate sensibly. No problem with using a target date fund, particularly if they diversify for you. In the future, when your balance is presumably larger, you can take the money out of the target date fund and allocate it as you see fit if you have developed investment views that warrant changes to your retirement. So no, don’t feel lazy, it’s a perfectly sensible thing to do. Concentrate on adding value to your employer’s investments first, since that will probably do more to raise your lifetime income than allocating a few grand here and there in your retirement account.