Tax, DTA, DTL

As u might have noticed I’m reviewing the Q that I found difficult from FSA hope u like that one too (also I would use some clarification. Thanks) In 2000, Taylor Company received $240,000 rent in advance. For income tax purposes, all of the $240,000 was included in taxable income. However, for financial reporting purposes, only $60,000 was included in the pretax financial income. The tax effects of the $180,000 difference would affect income tax liability, the deferred tax asset, and the deferred tax liability, respectively, in the following ways for 2000: A. increase, increase, no effect B. no effect, increase, no effect C. increase, no effect, increase D. no effect, no effect, increase

should be C, although I am not very good with taxes

I would say C as well

B

yeah I know, I got it wrong too … :frowning:

So the entire revenue was included for taxes, that increases taxes in the present period, creating a DTA. DTA then is deducted from taxes payables, having no effect on the income tax liability. No DTL is created. This should be B.

A or B … What is income Tax liability ??

the income tax expense = taxes payable +DTL-DTA

WOOOOW MAP GOT IT WRONG TOO !!! (not that I have something against u, just that I got tricked too)

Thats correct map. you mean income tax liability=income tax expense or taxes payable ??

when deferred tax comes from profit differences >> affect the DTA when deferred tax comes from loss differences >> affect the DTL

so…which one is it?

so what is the correct anwser then d’Artagnan???

:smiley: if there would be information about future tax rate different than the current tax rate, I would say it should be A. So, what’s the answer?:smiley:

Income tax liability = taxes payable, the answer should be A. my wrong! thunderanalyst Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Thats correct map. you mean income tax > liability=income tax expense or taxes payable ??

thanks map. whats the final ans D’artangan