The zillionth question regarding qualifying work experience - corporate finance or teaching?

I’m trying to get information regarding whether financial control counts towards the CFA’s work experience requirements. The information I’ve obtained is decidedly mixed - obviously, a CFO of a conglomerate would count; obviously, a bookkeeper would not.

Perhaps a bit of background would help. I graduated back in 2009 and, due to lack of opportunities, I decided to go to China, learn Chinese and polish off CFA (did level one in undergrad) while making living money teaching English. I figured, what the hell, others are going to MBA and Law School after graduation, why not cut out the 100 grand of debt and just rely on things that require self-study. In retrospect, it wasn’t exactly the best career move, but I love living in Asia and probably wouldn’t undo it.

One of the teaching gigs I got ended up being at a foreign-run language start-up, which has actually been doing quite well - got a large chunk of investment and is currently on the second school looking at a third. Being integral to their growth (writing curriculum, recruiting teachers from the States, etc), I actually had quite a bit of leeway to make my own position. Once I finished up level three, I pushed for a ‘financial controller’ position, which I designed to basically encompass most of the functions of a CFO, but without the bawdy title. My responsibilities, which end up touching a little bit of everything (tons of operations and recruitment still) are:

-creating financial statements

-handling the bank reconciliations

-budgeting and forecasting

-forecasting for potential new branches

-building and overseeing systems for accounting, analytical accounting, and budgeting (I communicate with the IT person who actually builds the systems, outlining our needs)