This 4 years work experience thing?

Alright, I’m confused. Am an I an idiot for starting to take the CFA Level 1 right after graduation? You’re required to have 4 years work experience before becoming a charterholder. What exactly does this mean? Can I still take all three exams and pass, but just wont be eligible for my charter until I have 4 years work experience under my belt? Or, does this mean I can’t even take the level 3 exam until I have the 4 years? I really hope it’s not the later.

You can take all the exams but have to wait to get the charter while you gain your work experience. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. If you pass level 3 and are waiting for the charter it won’t affect much in terms of finding a job or salary. Just focus on the tests for now.

Take exams anytime. But to officially earn the CFA charter, you must have BOTH passed all exams + 4 yrs approved work.

There’s a bunch of cases of people passing L1, 2 and 3. But have 0 related work experience. No Charter is awarded.

What they said. It’s nice to finish LIII and have your work experience already cleared so the charter showed up. I finished LIII and had to wait two years till I had enough work experience, it was a bit anti-climactic. But I will say, I’m glad I did it early and got it out of the way so I don’t have to worry about balancing the test with kids and such.

THANK GOODNESS. That is a relief.

I hear ya BS. That’s kind of not cool to basically have earned the charter and then wait forever for it to come. What happens after you pass level three but haven’t earned the charter yet? I’m guessing you can’t call yourself a CFA. Just have to say you passed level three?

Of course you cannot call yourself a CFA charterholder without officialy being awarded it. All you can say is “yes I passed all 3 exams”