Those who failed last year

Did you really study that hard and still fail or what is a half Arse try? If I had done this much studying for level one I should have gotten a perfect score lol…

I haven’t taken it yet, but let’s put it this way: I’ve done a similar amount of studying for L1 and L2. I absolutely crushed L1. For L2, the average on my mocks is 14% lower than for L1. L2 is WAY harder than L1, and it looks to me like your studying hard is reasonable.

I failed last year Band 8. I did not feel that confident going into the exam as a result of my minimal study effort. I studied about 175 hours last year. On the exam I bombed FRA terribly (<50). You can’t score that poorly on FRA and have a shot at passing. I was really rushed for time in the AM session and that really unnerved me for the PM session. So no, I did not study my @ss off and fail. I’ve put in about 300 hours of studying this year and feel much better about my chances going into the exam. I’ve spent over 100 hours on FRA alone and took an accounting workshop specifically for L2 FRA. Let’s do this!

do you recall which sections of fra were covered last year bro?

Pensions & Intercorporate Investments for sure. If I remember correctly the currency translation item set was a b!tch and was much more qualitative in nature. I can’t remember about the fourth vignette. I would assume it was on earnings quality, adjustments, etc… I have no idea what they might throw at us this year because they decided to include inventory accounting and pp&e stuff.

Band 10 fail. I bombed equities and fixed income. I studied over 600 hours but used only Schweser. In retrospect I wasn’t prepared nearly as much as I needed to be for equities, I blame Schweser and am using only CFAI this go around.

^^ Same, although I probably did c300 hours. I aced Level 1 first time, no in no way is that representative of L2…Make no mistake, L2 is a beast.