Too late for June exam?

I graduated in '06 from one of the top liberal arts colleges with a degree in PolSci. Now, I am doing research at a medical school but I know it isn’t for me. I would like to take the Level 1 exam in June. Is that enough time? I have only taken one accounting class. I am a good math student so I am not worried about my learning the material. I more concerned with the time to study the material. Also, does taking the Level 1 exam make it easier to find an analyst position if you have no prior experience? I am doing this because I thinking it would increase my chance of finding a job in finance. Right now, I keep getting interviews but no offers. I really think it is because of my lack of a finance background.

It all depends on how much time you can set aside to study. Have a look at the material and evaluate how much difficulty you have in mastering the LOS’s. As for your math experience, the math required for level 1 is relatively simple so you will most likely breeze through quant and will be quicker through equity and fixed income analysis. Since you dont have a finance background, you will probably find FSA to be the most difficult and time consuming. Unfortunately your educational background will be of little benefit for L1. Having said that, you have 18 weeks to prepare, so I would reccomend you set aside at least 15 hours a week to start and see how that goes.

If you are totally new to finance, you should be able to spend some quality time with CFAI’s books. Even if you learn the material you have to make sure that you are really comfortable with all the concepts and formulas and be quick enough on multiples choice Qs. Enrolling for June however won’t hurt, just for the experience. Devote at least 400-500h in my opinion.