Transition to Finance

Hi, I am currently a masters student in physics (UK)and have recently been considering my career prospects and feel I am at a crossroads in my life. Currently I am undecided on whether or not I want to pursue a PhD a year or two from now or simply go to work after completion of my masters in the finance sector. Ultimately I would like to do a PhD however a few financial difficulties have arisen in my family forcing me to take time out to help them. Although I’m told otherwise I feel my physics background would make me ill-suited to a career in finance leading me to think seriously about ways to increase my chances of landing a job. I have been looking at part time Masters in finance however the course costs are absolutely extortionate. I have graduated with a first in Bsc physics and I’m projected to have a distinction in my Msc. Is there anything I can do to help my career prospects further in finance and is a Msc in finance even worth it? I hear after obtaining a PhD in physics it leads to extremely lucrative positions especially as a quant. However I can’t wait 3 years as of now. I have been researching recently and most advice me to take the CFA or CQF. However it seems the former is more respected and well known than the latter

Hi Rigor45,

I was in your situation 7-8 years back. The difference was that I had Bachelor in Business Administration and B.Sc. in Accounting. I went with the MBA+CFA route and it worked out quite well.

In my current job, about 30-40% of my coworkers (mostly quants) have PhD’s…mathematics, statistics, physics, aerospace engineering etc. In overall, they don’t feel as PhD has helped them significantly to land a job. Then again, they have a decent job…which they might not have without a PhD. But I do not think that obtaining a PhD in physics automatically leads to extremely lucrative positions especially as a quant.