Treasury Job with a Fortune 20 Corporation - Please advise

All, I am a 2nd year MBA student at a top20 school. My background pre-MBA was in high-tech. I was targeting investment banking/investment management jobs through campus recruiting. Though I did get a few final rounds with leading banks, unfortunately I don’t have an offer from them. I recently received an offer for a role in Treasury at a Fortune20 company. I don’t know my exact role yet but I could be doing any of the following: “Managing front office trading in capital markets and foreign exchange. Risk Management and Funding Strategy. Capital Structure and Treasury Operations.” I will have some say in which of these three groups I get placed. I am looking for some input on which of these areas would provide me with the best exit opps (if any). My eventual target is the PE/HF/IM/IB area. Would it be possible/likely to make the switch to any of these areas after a year or two of treasury experience? If not, what areas could I transition in to? I don’t want to do treasury for life, so it’s important for me that there be good exit opps. Also, the pay they have offered me is what an average finance MBA gets, however is on the lower side if you took in to account that the position is in very high cost of living area. If you have any idea of typical post-MBA salaries in the treasury area, please let me know. I need to make a decision soon and would appreciate any insight you could provide. Thanks. Regards, FFGuru

“the PE/HF/IM/IB area”? And you would like to live in the NYC/Chicago/LA/Dallas area?

I don’t know your situation and how long you want to try and hold out for a job in your target area, but you might find that getting in to those areas may not be any easier after a stint in Treasury… that being said, I don’t necessarily think that it’s going to be any harder.