Treasury

Anybody here work for the Treasury department at a bank? What are your daily duties? What sort of skills are normally normally required?

edit

I do, just started… Key component of my job “maintain the banks liquidity position”- aka making sure we don’t end up like Bear Stearns. Borrow money in the morning from brokers, sell money the end of the day if necessary. Eventually I’ll be more involved in the maintenance of the banks portfolio, monitoring bonds, derivatives and deciding what to invest in. Bidding on CD’s for local municipalities. Monitoring interest rate risk and the balance sheet, reporting to the Board of Directors on the ALCO (Asset Liability Management Committee). To be honest it’s great experience depending on what you want to do and where you’re coming from. I graduated from college less than a year ago and eventually I’ll be dealing with the investment bankers that work with our bank. And you get to watch Bloomberg TV all day! For me it was a great intro to the fixed income markets which I didn’t know much about…I still have a lot to learn.