Two CFA L1 questions...

Hey there, I’m thinking of starting off with the CFA L1 (for June 09) but had two questions: 1. Although I have experience with finance and accounting, I have NO knowledge of stats or probabilites. Is there a good textbook or online course or something you can recommend that will bring me up to speed enough with stats so that I can handle the quant portions of CFA L1? 2. On the L1 test, do you need to have a minimum passing score for the material in each book, or just a passing grade overall? Meaning, do you have to get at least a 70% on the ethics questions, 70% on the fsa questions, etc - or just get 70% overall on the exam? Thanks for your time, I appreciate it!

brafique Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Hey there, I’m thinking of starting off with the > CFA L1 (for June 09) but had two questions: > > 1. Although I have experience with finance and > accounting, I have NO knowledge of stats or > probabilites. Is there a good textbook or online > course or something you can recommend that will > bring me up to speed enough with stats so that I > can handle the quant portions of CFA L1? The CFA texts cover these in details, I would think for purposes of exam they are enough. > 2. On the L1 test, do you need to have a minimum > passing score for the material in each book, or > just a passing grade overall? Meaning, do you have > to get at least a 70% on the ethics questions, 70% > on the fsa questions, etc - or just get 70% > overall on the exam? Yes, you need to pass all with >70%. However, I have seen some results with some two sections between 50% and 70%. JDV, one of the smartest men on AF says if you are between the passing line, ethics and FSA can determine your fate. I think thats accurate. > Thanks for your time, I appreciate it!