Two roads diverge...

I am a buy side equity analyst and have been in that role for about 6 years with two different firms. I really like the work and my current company lets me work from home one or two days a week if I like. I make 125k base, no MBA and bonus can be anywhere from 0 (although that never happened yet) to my base salary.

I have the opportunity to take a position with a firm in an analyst/client portfolio manager role. I have no problem talking to clients, but I fear that once I go down this path I’m going to be labeled a “client” person forever and I’m not sure I want to close doors on the pure investments track. This role also comes at a 40% raise to base, which could definitely make a difference in the life of me and my fiance and could even allow me to retire more quickly.

What to do?

What a fantastic dilemma to have. What I would give to be in your position.

I think you need to consider which will ultimately be more fulfilling for you. You will be doing this day in day out after all.

The thing is there will be other opportunities that arise for you in the future too, not just this one. Do you think there will be better ones? If you do then it may be worth sticking with what you are doing at the moment. It clearly makes you happy and pays the bills; it also means you can stick to pure investments.

Just my 2 cents

in the wood. and I, I choose the one less traveled by, and it has made all the difference.

any educated people know where that is from WITHOUT looking it up?

Good thing to bring up on a Robert Frosty day.

Though it does begin: Two roads diverged in a YELLOW wood…