undergrad to level 1

Hi, im in my last semester of and Economics degree and was wondering how diferent Level 1 is to undergrad finance units ie: Portfolio Management, Fin Risk Management ect??? Is the level of difficulty higher or is it just different topics?? Thanks

I took level 1 before I graduated. I was familiar with most if not all of the topics. Maybe 70-80% was stuff I’ve dealt with in college. Do it while you’re still fresh.

Same here. Best do it when it is fresh and also you should have way more free time than with a full time job… enjoy.

I found level 1 kinda easy for me (graduating from finance in December). HOWEVER, I still studied hard because there’s a TON of material and you have to kno all of it. I probably put in about 250 hours. I knew 3 other people in my program who wrote the exam and they all failed mainly because they didn’t study enough not because they weren’t smart enough. If you took a lot of accounting and investments courses you’ll be in great shape and I would do it right when you finish or even now.

i know an undergrad that crushed level i december 2007. he was taking a full load and was busy trying to get laid, so it CAN be done. if i were you, id do it. i wish i knew what the CFA charter was when i was 21.

I am also senior studying for Finance degree, from what I’ve heard that its a matter of dedication and consistency, you need to put in the needed amount of studying hours in order to pass. it would sure give you a competitive edge if you took a couple of Investments courses and/or Advanced Accounting, I would encourage you to go for it, especially when the courses are still fresh in your head. btw when are you undergoing the exam? I’m set for 2009 June. email me at ywibra@gmail.com