Update after first couple of weeks on the job

Hey guys, thought I would give an update on my situation as it seems lots of posters around here are in a similar position than I am/was. I found a job in Equity Research in Canada for a BB Canadian Bank about a month ago. I graduated in May '07 and had passed Level I in Dec '06. I never looked for a permanent job after graduating because I though I would have gone with a M.Sc right away. I started the program in September but didn’t like it, so I dropped out and went looking for a job. After 3 weeks, I knew I was hired. **Note : this was not my first attempt at getting a job in either Investment Banking or Equity Research. I had done 3 interview process over the summer, got to the final round in 2 of them, but never got it. Guess I was missing the “final touch” or something. So anyway, the job is really fun / a good learning place for a young grad. I work with 3 analysts and 2 associates and we cover 2 major industries (about 80% of the companies we follow are Canadian ones). My official title is Assitant, Institutional Equities Research. I love what I do and get to learn about the specific industries as well as general procedures and how-to’s of the industry. On a day-to-day basis, my job is to follow through with my colleagues particular demands and monitor/update models and prices. I would say it really is a good foot-in-the-door place to be so you can learn all of the tools these guys use before actually having to voice out your opinion about companies. I would say the typical person in my position stays there for about 2 years before moving on to be an associate, which is perfect as I really want to be done with my CFA exams asap. The job is requiring in terms of hours, but not that much (I would say around 40-45 when I get even more settled in). Pay is great compared to what other students graduating at the same time I did are now doing, and also considering cost of living is cheap here. So if you ever have a que