Valuation of Oil&Gas // Financial Firms – Pointers?

Hello fellow AFers! I am looking for suggestions/books/courses I can take to learn the primers of energy/financial companies modeling. Any suggestions? I have zero knowledge whatsoever regarding both industries, so I would also appreciate any reading material suggestions that cover more qualitative aspects (industry dynamics, economic drivers, what constitutes competitive adv, etc).

Note: live bootcamps/workshops are out of the question since I don’t live in America.

Anyone tried BreakIntoWallStreet or WallStreetPrep industry-specific valuation courses? They seem legit… but they are somewhat expensive, so I’d appreciate your opinions on the subject before I spend that kind of money :D.

On a more general note, do you have a routine or a checklist that you go through when you’re first trying to get acquainted with a new industry from scratch?

Buy Damodarans’ books and look at his newsletters. Don’t waste your time/money on WSP.

You’re welcome.

Spend some time learning what blow-down NAV is. Also, netback, which I had to ask about the other day, and recycle ratios…

I just started at a buy-side O&G fund manager and am slowly beginning to learn this stuff… between technology, plays/formations/geology, valuation methods, it makes your head spin at first.

1. Read “Oil 101” by Morgan Downey. It’s worth absolutely every penny as pretty much every other source assumes you know what that book explains to you. If money’s no object you might as well buy “Energy Trading & Investing” by Davis Edwards, though it’s O&G section is only a small chunk of the book, and I found it incredibly elementary (keep in mind I’ve been in the industry since before university).

2. Sign up for SeekingAlpha’s energy investors digest. Read articles linked from articles on there, you’ll learn a lot if you follow the references (disclaimer: not all SA contributors were created equal)