Venture capital vs. Mutual fund

Now I have two interviews: Senior associate with a small Chinese venture capital company ($100m) strategically backed by 2 top 20 US VCs; Senior analyst with a startup mutual fund ($1bn) joint venture with a top 5 European fund house. VC and fund house are quite different. I don’t’ know which one I shall choose… VC is more challenging (funny?) and risky…but career at fund house would be more sustainable… I have 4 years experiences (2yr in VC and 2yr as equity analyst). Need your advice. Thanks!

if mutual fund company is ING dont go there

“strategically backed” means the first time they F-up their funding gets pulled. Good luck

I would worry about this when I get both offers.

Also $100M? They will be taking small swings I assume not taking lead.

golfer, it’s not ING. Mr.Good.Guy, the VC is very small (compared to the world tops) but it’s top 10 in China and successfully closed a couple of deals in the past two years. Now it’s working on around 12-15 deals. One of the VC’s US partners is a recognized leader in early stages.

cfafrank , I haven’t gotten the offers yet. However, I want to make decisions and prepare for future applications.

Hey Golfer, Is ING really that bad? Just asking because I’m exploring some opportunities in Europe and since they’re a big player I may look into the company some. Thanks.

I like the VC job. I personally think that’s much more interesting, but I guess it depends on what you want to do…