Villanova Masters of Finance

I’m from PA and now live in NJ, and have never worked/ attended school outside those regions and was wondering what kind of reputation if any Villanova has outside PA / NJ? Should I be looking elsewhere, or are they pretty legit?

I went to Villanova for a semester in my junior year because of Hurricane Katrina. The school I graduated from was a top 50 US News school, while Villanova either was ranked very low or didn’t get a ranking because it wasn’t a national university. Compared to my school, I felt Villanova was comparable with some business and economics departments with their Econ dept. being real good, while some of there core business classes weren’t as rigorous. At the time I went there during Katrina, a friend of mine was enrolled in the Master of Finance program from my university, but he lived in PA and Nova let him take MFin classes, and he told me a few things about it, although nothing is conclusive. Generally he felt is was a little less rigourous in the sense that is wasn’t as quantitative, which is generally what you want; however, they did dump a lot of money in the program over the past few years which could mean they are constantly improving it. I’m from Long Island and while I hope I could handle a rigorous MFin program at a top 15 school, if I decide to go for an MFin program I would definitely consider a program like Nova or Hofstra. Just keep in mind that most Mfin programs are comparable, except that the school is either quantitatively based and requires a lot of upper-level math, or more qualitative. So, most people won’t disrespect the program but they may disrespect the rigorousness. If you have taken upper level math courses and want to pursue a quantitative study of finance then find a more quantitative program; even at a state school is respectable.

What about versus the Penn State Masters of Finance?

Does anyone know where they have a ranking of finance programs?