What college courses help prepare for the CFA Level 1 exam?

Hi.

I’m a sophomore majoring in economics. So far I’ve taken intro macro and micro, intermediate macro, and financial accounting. This semester I’m taking intermediate microeconomics and business stats, and next semester econometrics and another econ course.

What courses ehlp prepare for the CFA level 1 exam and should I take it during college if I can prepare for it during the year/breaks?

Thank you

IMO Financial Statement Analysis and Portfolio Management would be helpful.

Accounting, coporate finance, portfolio mgmt or anything more specific to investment finance. Your econ classes should help.

Treat the CFA books as separate classes, don’t assume you can skip stuff, make sure to look at it all.

there was nothing on level 1 that I hadn’t seen before…doesnt mean I was good at it lol, just had seen EVERYTHING except ethics of course (its proprietary)…here were the relevant classes that showed up in level 1:

financial accounting (a little bit of FRA), managerial accounting (moreso FRA), microeconomics(econ), macroeconomics(econ), managerial economics(econ), business statistics(quant), business finance(PM, Corp Fin), debt and money markets(FI and derivatives), equity and capital markets(equity and derivatives), financial management (Corp Fin, FRA)

I would say any accounting you can do that focuses on the higher level accounting, (think understanding the financial statements not debits vs credits) will be beneficial to you on a personal, professional, and CFA level. but they wont be easy so weight risk v return in terms of your GPA

You’re a sophmore in college and you’re taking CFA? I thought I wanted to be a lawyer when I was a sophmore in college.