what do i do now?

so iv’e just got an undergrad degree in engineering and i don’t want to stay in it.aspects of finance interest me-the psychometric,personality tests seem to suggest it would be a decent enough fit.

the best way to do that seems to be an mba with a specialization in finance + the internships?if that’s the case there are about 15-20 good mba schools here but they are fucking ridiculously competetive.i dont stand a chance.

my best bet would be american or canadian b-schools.now since i have no background in finance

1)would the cfa be helpful in terms of knowledge or would i be better of picking up stand alone books and learning at my own pace?

2)iv’e heard that the undergrad gpa for american schools is just a barometer to see if they can finish the program.if so would clearing the cfa exams make up for a rubbish gpa?

3)most canadian mba’s are 1 year degrees.how do they cover the same content?

Stay in engineering…

no chance

My blunt opinions, not for faint hearted. Read only if above 18.

Indian B-schools are too tough to get into (I am taking about the IIMs and ISB), even getting into NMIMS, SPJ, SYMBI, IMT, FMS is tough and needs top notch game.

1. CFA = waste of time.

2. CFA = waste of time.

3. Canada MBA (other than Rotman) = waste of time.

Your only way to switch careers is to get into Top-20 B-school (US or Europe) with Finance specialization.

This is a CFA forum and people will tell you only good things about it. I tell facts and reality, Amen!

You want to change careers because an online personality test said you would be a good fit?

You may as well used a magic eight ball

yup i thought i might be good for symbi or fms.i would have stayed here then but that’s become freakishly hard too.

2)best way to make up for a shit gpa?

3)queens seems to be decent too.

the mba seems to be a degree with options at the end of it-consulting,finance or a normal corporate job at entry management level.