What do you think

I am a software engineer and working in IT (information technology) sector from last 5.5 years. I have no finance, eco background and have not touched any of the CFA books. I am thinking of applying for CFA Level 1, do you think it is doable if I target Dec’09? Or I should target Jun’10? About me: I am 28, married, no kids, working 8 hours a day in a Finance company. Thanks in advance.

How much time are you willing to commit? With no finance background you’d probably have to invest ~300 hours for the test - is that doable between now and December for you? Also, if you do December you can take L2 in June, which saves you a year. All comes down to how serious you are about it - before you do a thing, ask yourself if you and your wife can handle the commitment that it takes. Just my 2bps.

Go to the CFAI website and find the sample questions link under the CFA Program tab. Answer all of the questions to the best of your ability and then tabulate your score. These are very reasonable questions that reflect the format you will see on the exam (less the fourth possible answer of course). If you didn’t do well on this exam, I would select June 10 and then craft a very specific lesson plan. As it is, you would be hard-pressed to learn and retain 18 study sessions in the remaining time for Dec 09 AND give yourself time to review and participate in mock exams.

I will do that today, not sure how well I will do without having any knowledge in the field. But by reading those questions, I would know where I stand. Thanks a lot for your advise.