What I wish I had known before starting my preparations to the CFA Charter

I’ve been dreaming about this moment since 5 years. Dreaming, really…

Back in 2009 I was looking through the CFA books during a quite boring party while waiting for the food to be served. My friend just applied for the first level. Being a computer scientist by diploma I was also interested in financial markets. At the time I began my career as software developer at an investment bank. My job was developing trading tools, graphical user interfaces, and simple order execution systems. This job was very technical and it didn’t require any financial knowledge, but anyway, this was something I wanted to get familiar with.

The books seemed to cover the topics well, starting with an introduction to finance and ending with portfolio management. The volume of the books didn’t scare me off, by the time I’d finished reading “War and Peace” by Tolstoy. So, I decided to apply. I applied in November 2009 for the first CFA level exam and this changed my life. Since that moment my whole life started to turn around the exam.

It was very tough in the beginning. Without having neither financial nor economic knowledge, even the first level seemed challenging. I’ve been working hard, really hard for the six month that followed, but I remember this feeling after quitting the room on the first Saturday of June. I felt happy. This happiness lasted for the rest of the summer. This feeling of liberation or freedom, if you wish to, was outstanding. I’ve never felt anything like that before. I’ve been partying hard, really hard. Then the results came out. This was a disappointment. The band #10. The worst outcome that can happen on the exam. Your are almost there, but not actually. The following day I applied to the December exam.