What is a beginner to do? ( pre-level 1 life decisions)

Beginner here. I am graduating in a few days with a Communications degree (I know, right?) and a minor in business. By the time I knew I liked finance, it was too late to switch to a business major. The money and time necessary to double major didn’t make sense-- it would be better spent on a masters. I have an introductory education in business but have an solid intermediate economics education. This spans micro and macro. I have reviewed level I’s economics section and am comfortable with the majority of it. I’m enrolled in a financial management class this summer. My quant is weak, but i recognize some of the material and will be polishing and growing my math skills this summer. It’s going to be a lot of work but I feel I have the potential. I’m aiming for the December '12 exam…

NOW to my question: what kind of entry level position should I look for?

I think I need to show more of a dedication to finance, for example by passing the level I, before recruiters are convinced that I’m committed. Or should I give up, take my communications degree, and go work at McDonalds?

If I were you and you can tolerate it, try to look for internships, unpaid if necessary over the summer.

You seem humble enough, so I will answer honestly.

The finance hiring market is atrocious, no joke. Graduates of top business schools are having a tough time landing anything. Big shops are laying off every few weeks, and people are fighting for the scraps. I’m guessing you’re not from a top school otherwise you would have mentioned it. GPA probably not so impressive either?

There are also a ton of people who have passed the CFA exams all looking for the same foot in the door you are. passing L1 won’t do much for you at all

Sorry to be such a downer, and I don’t want to crush your dreams, but the odds are heavily against you