What is CAIA in your opinion? How tough is it.

Hey Guys

Wishing you all a Happy and A Prosperous New Year in advance.

Guys, I have cleared my CFA L3 this June and was seeking to get further knowledge in alternative investments. I wanted to know how good is this course and does it hold good reputation in the market. Also, if any one would be kind to comment on the levels, their difficult and the format of the exam. This will save my research time.

Thanks guys.

Hey

Anyone aware of this?

I’m an accountant by trade and recently completed the CAIA Charter. I work in the Funds industry so for me the knowledge I got from the program was top notch. I did however find it pretty tough, and had to take Level 2 three times but in the end I did very well on it.

For you coming from CFA, I would think you would have no problems passing it. It depends on what area you are working in to determine if it would be relevant, but if you want to learn more about alternative investments in particular Hedge Funds, Private Equity, Real Estate, Commodities, Structured Products and Asset Allocation then go for it, you will not regret it.

Hey

Thanks for your efforts to share your experience. Well, actually, I am looking for a career pivot. I am currently employed with a local bank in the credit division. I badly wanna work for the VC/PE industry and I am constantly hustling to build my network. So, in this scenario, do you think CAIA as an addition to my profile is worth the effort.

Thanks.

I think an MBA program from a top 5 target school is better in your situation.

check out: https://www.wallstreetoasis.com/forums/what-do-you-think-about-the-caia

I would say if you want to learn a bit more about PE/VC CAIA is absolutely worth while. Its covered in both levels and the material is very useful.