What is everyone's background and age? Just curious

Hi all,

I would really like to know everyone’s background as a CFA Level I candidate.

I am a Treasury Assistant working for a bank in Seattle.

It seems like everyone in my Finance Dept. has a CFA: Finance team, Secondary Marketing team, Accounting Team;

and that is why I am getting it.

Care to share??

22, economics major, class of 2012. That’s what I studied. When people ask, I would just skip that fact that my other major was psychology. Eff that gpa de-booster.

^ I feel the same about my math minor. calculus was just a waste of time.

26, econ/finance/math degree, graduated june 2012, business analyst for a large oil services company

taking my cfa partly because I’m very interested in the stuff, partly because boss is paying for it

I wish I had made Math/Stats my major rather than psychology, at least it’s useless for landing a job in equity research at boutiques/mm/bb/whatever. It’s a drag comparing to a major in something quantitative.

25, econ major, FA at large firm. Looking to further career and get out of sales eventually…

I’m 23, has just graduated from university, majoring in Finance and Banking :smiley: Looking for jobs in an investment bank.

27, econ and philosophy major (nor regrets about the philosophy, it was awesome), been working as an equity/portfolio analyst in a small firm for the last 4 years.

Doing the CFA because firms don’t seem to respect my past experience because it’s not from a large firm.

25, Graduated with BS in 2010. Degree in Finance and doubled in Econ. Currently work as an analyst at a REIT, Alooooooooot of back office reporting type stuff, that is why I am pursuiting the CFA.

28, Law graduate but working in MO Ops for 3 yrs now

Nice !! So to sum up, having CFA destination just a carreer booster for you guys?

God, sometimes I think holding a CFA doesnt really make me stand out. It makes me stands among them…lol